New user, what next? - LILYGO NEO-6M 886Mhz

Hello there,

I’ve just set up my two Lilygo devices. Both have the 0.7.8 firmware on them:

I’m trying to figure out how things work at the moment, as it is my first time. When I send a message on one, the other does not receive it - in either direction. More below.

I started with the left one a few hours ago, and have just finished the one on the right. I have set them both in a new short-range channel, which I’ve named “qe”, as I got no different behaviour with the channel “Default” that both had.

The one on the left, displays a few different things from the right one:

• “B 4.18V+U” on the left. I presume 4.18V is the current battery charge. The one on the right shows “B 4.18V U”. Why does left show the “+” between the V and U, and the right one does not?
  • The left has locked on to GPS - but it took a while. As I just finished the right one about 45 mins ago, is it correct to assume that it may not yet have locked onto the satellites? There is no red LED flashing under the NEO-6M chip, whereas the left one has it flashing, and had it flashing even before locking onto GPS. Could I have a fault on the right device?
  • What’s “Users X/Y”? Left shows 1/1, right shows 0/1.
  • When I send a message on one, the other does not receive it. And in the serial debug (I have both on, permanently), both devices print “Can not send yet, busyTx” continuously. Is that expected? Do they take a long time to each lock into the channel?

I realise I’m asking a lot of things that may already be covered in an FAQ of some sort. If they are, feel free to send me there, as I had a skim through the forum and didn’t see one at first glance. So much to learn though! :slight_smile:

Any pointers, greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Just a quick check what firmware did you flash? TBEAM?

2 Likes