Anyone in Brussels, Belgium?

hello

starting setting up nodes. I’m looking for other people in Brussels to create a city mesh

see you soon!

Kookcmoi

Mechelen to far I guess

Nice. At least someone in Belgium !
I wouls like to position some nodes at different positions to build up a mesh. Are you interested in doing that (and by motivating other people to help) ?

yeah sure, got 2x heltecs v3 an 2x T-echos. currently just experimenting with those, no experience setting up nodes.

Received my 433 version yesterday from Ali but seems I should have picked the 868 version. If this thing doesn’t takeoff in Brussels, I’ll repurpose it for MQTT

Yes , get 868Mhz versions instead that everyone uses. Although lower frequencies have theoritically longer range, 433Mhz is a very polluted band

I am also a newbie with meshtastic. I have 4 wisblock nodes (no screens) and two heltech nodes (with screens). The wisblock nodes consume very low power so they are ideal fir permanent relay nodes (no screen needed). Whike the heltech nodes with screens are more suited for handheld/mobile use.

I’m bulding a solar node. I’ll post my experiment later

Agree that 433 (rather 434) is indeed busier than 868. Will get an 868 if meshtastic gets more coverage in/around Brussels. Will leave my 433 active for some time then flash it for TinyGS or RTL433 & HomeAssistant. With the 868 version, there are no interesting alternative afaik.

Are you in Brussels or around it ? My idea and proposal is to gather people, like you eventually, so that we build the mesh in Brussels, one node at a time. I have four nodes to place. My first fixed node is indicated on this online map that collects nodes positions : Meshtastic Map (canvis.app)

Here a screenshot : we see my only and first node. Now place yours too !

1 Like

Hi, where did you order the RAK device ?

I am looking to put up a permanent solar powered node. (Limburg)

Thanks