Help a total newbie?

Howdy, I just even discovered Meshtastic about 3 months ago, but didn’t even mess with it until roughly a month ago. I bought one device that turned out to be the wrong one for just simple radio communication. It can be, I believe, used for that, but it wasn’t it’s primary function. Anyway, I ordered what turned out to be the correct one from AliExpress. It took nearly 3 weeks to get here.

So, I had already forgotten some of the steps and utilities I’d used on the first one by the time this thing arrived. I did, after watching two or three videos have my memory jogged. I managed to get this Heltec ESP32 V3 flashed and a few of the categories selected and saved. I have no idea what I’m doing and have not successully managed to send or receive anything at all. I need a kind of walk-thru of what boxes to checkmark and what to even worry about on the Meshtastic setup screen.

The only thing you really need to do after flashing is setting you region. If there are devices using the default settings in range of where you are, they will show up in the node list of a client app and displayed on the screen. If there are none, you might need to place your node higher up, or take it with you to check other places.

Things are tough for people starting out if they have only one device. It’s a lot easier with two (or if you can convince a pal). Although you end up sending drivel to yourself, you can see what config does. Stick with the defaults, in particular if you change anything about the primary channel like channel name etc then you may end up on a different frequency in the band. This is hidden in the docs here - so don’t start with the instructions in that ‘not sharing your location’ tips.

The mesh is not so dense in most places that you can simply fire up and hope to reach other people via RF. If your other device works for Meshtastic on the band your new Heltec then try to see if they interwork.