New Startup with 2 RAK4631s

Hi, I’m in a rural area of Ohio and I’m interested in starting a network here. I received my two 4631 and baseboards last week. I THINK I have the latest firmware installed, using the Drag and Drop method. My devices fire up and I see them on the Meshtastic app on my iPhone. My problem is, how can I tell if they’re working? I’m seeing a red LED that stays on but flickers faintly at times. The green LED blinks at a rate of a little less than once per second. I have seen no RF signal on my SDR receiver at or about 915 mHz. Am I correct so far? Sorry but I’m a total newbie here.

2 Likes

On the RAK’s, the Red light is charging and the faint Green flash is normal operation.

All Meshtastic Radios use a packet approach. When they transmit it is only for a fraction of a second, so difficult to see on a scanner.

The best way to know they are working is to see them updated in the App. Every time the send out a heart beat you know they are working.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’m seeing and connecting via Bluetooth. But, does it ever actually send any RF thar can be seen? I know this is simple but I’m starting at square 1.

1 Like

Did you select the country “US” instead of “UNSET”? In Radio Config under the LoRa tab, you set the country and I would probably set the output power from 30dBm to 10dBm to go easy on the batteries, assuming UR running on batteries.
I have a TinySA Ultra and I can see packets about 907Mhz!

1 Like

I have a transmitter output tester left over from building FPV aircraft and it connects directly to the SMA connector. When I sent a message, for less than a second I see 134mw of power on the meter.

1 Like

You DO have both the BLE antenna and the LoRa antenna connected right?
[

]

2 Likes

Oh yes. That was the very first thing that I did. But one item is bothering me, I’ve still not received my batteries and I’m leaving the units connected to my PC USB port - could that be a problem?

2 Likes