Firmware complete with wifi enabled

Hi all. Im new to Meshtastic. i just wondered if there was a version of the firmware with wifi pre enabled ?

1 Like

Wifi is “enabled” in the default builds, they’re just not configured with any particular settings.

So I understand more, what is your use case?

1 Like

I’m running 1.1.8 on several devices but want to be able to access the web server and use it on a non android phone

Take a look at the instructions here:

The WebUI is still a work in progress but it’d be great to get your feedback so far.

1 Like

yer, ive tried that, for some reason when i run

import meshtastic

The following come back

-bash: import: command not found

On mac using terminal

1 Like

Try to use the meshtastic executable that is installed along with the python package.
try
meshtastic --help
in your bash shell.

2 Likes

To use the API, the import command as well as all subsequent commands need to be run in the Python interactive shell, not the bash shell. Launch by typing (likely) “python3” into your bash shell. I suppose the docs could use some clarification in that regard.

1 Like

Many Thanks for your help. I’ve got further but when i try to assign the port using

interface = meshtastic.SerialInterface (/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART)

I get a syntax invalid error

It look slike the it wants a string
From my linux machine:
>>> interface = meshtastic.SerialInterface(/dev/ttyUSB0)
File “<stdin>”, line 1
interface = meshtastic.SerialInterface(/dev/ttyUSB0)
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
>>> interface = meshtastic.SerialInterface("/dev/ttyUSB0")
>>>

Yer, Thats great that gets me one step further, i now get

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.8/bin/meshtastic", line 8, in <module>
    sys.exit(main())
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.8/lib/python3.8/site-packages/meshtastic/__main__.py", line 387, in main
    client = SerialInterface(