Board recommendations

Hey all!

Greetings from Brisbane Australia. Forgive me if this post doesn’t fit with guidelines. I’m new to all this.

I bought a pair of TTGO ESP32 LoRa V1s some time ago and realised recently they were compatible with this project. I’ve been having some issues with them though.

One of the boards won’t flash unless I hold the ‘rst’ button while esptool connects. I figured that one out, but it’s made for some really weird behaviour when using the python API to change preferences. Apparently this is a manufacturing oversight?

The same board also keeps asking to be re-paired over bluetooth. I recall seeing a post somewhere mentioning that some of these boards have an issue with corruption and this can cause the re-pairing issue.

The other problem I’ve been having with both of them is that as soon as they sleep, messages won’t be received for a long time if at all. I’m not sure what the expected behaviour is for when a node is in sleep mode? Is it supposed to take upwards of 15mins?

I’d love to get my hands on some T-Beams as they seem to be the recommended way to go. Have these problems occured for anyone with the T-Beams? I noticed there are also a few of you guys looking at using nrf52 and a new prototype board from TTGO coming out with an e-ink display. I’d love to get my feet a little wetter and just wondering what the next recommended step for a beginner might be.

This is a great project! I’d love to know more and get a bit of a meshtastic community going on down here in Brisbane, but I’m very new to all this, so apologies for the questions :sweat_smile:

Caleb

1 Like

Hmm. What version # of the firmware are running on the boards? What version of the python api?

I’m running version 1.0.0 on both boards and python-meshtastic version 1.0.13 :slight_smile:

Hmmm. Sorry one more question - what model of phone?