Absolute Noob Questions, please ignore if you're low on patience

Hi guys,

I’m one of these people who really like the idea of Meshtastic, but who can’t get it to run at all.
I’ve just received two LoRa radios from a friend (who also can’t get anything to run), which I’ve charged and one sends packets to the other, so they seem to work.
I’ve followed the instructions on meshtastic.letstalkthis.com, and after some trouble managed to download the ESP flasher and the firmware.
Now the flasher gives me an error message “no serial”. Connector is USB, and it’s in. Any ideas here?

Next, would one of you be able to tell me which firmware to choose for the LoRas on the attached picture?

Thanks in advance muchly,

Sven

Welcome to the project.

The way sellers advertise the devices tends to be rather inconsistent.

The way manufactures revise boards even more so.

Myself and others can guess what board is in the case, and come up with some ideas on what TTGO board it could be. But we would have a better idea if you can open the case and take close up photos of the actual board.

2 Likes

Thanks, will do when I get back inside. That makes sense.

If you are using the Windows version of ESP Flasher and no COM port shows up, try two things.

First, try another USB cable. You need a full USB cable, not just a charging cable.
Second, you may need to install the USB bridge/UART drivers.

1 Like

Re cables: Thank you very much indeed for this pointer, this made sense to me straight away, as I hadn’t thought of the type of cable at all. I tried a few other cables with no success though. The original one was included in the package and at least charges the LoRas. It has quite a long metal plug to reach into the rather thick 3d printed case, so not all other cables even reach deep enough to charge. I tried different USB ports as well, also didn’t do the trick.
Do I need to emulate a serial port? Or is this just how they phrased the error message, and I can keep trying USB?