3D Printer Advise Please

Hi All,

Last night I managed to get Meshtastic going on A LilyGO TTGO T3 LoRa32 868MHz V2.1.6 ESP32 ,after some fiddling on my laptop running Linux Ubuntu 64bit ,I managed to flash the board via VS Studio Code so I am now very excited to proceed testing and do some outdoor range testing etc.
I now want to build a casing for the board with a 3D printer and as I am on a very low budget I was wondering if other forum members that already have done this can give me some advice in 3D printers please.
I have found a low budget printer in the link below and maybe somebody can tell me if this would be a suitable printer for printing cases or housing for various esp32 boards?

Would this work with the drawings from the link below?

I have never used a 3D printer so I am totally new to this technology.
Also a note that I am running Linux only (ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS 64 bit) as I believe Linux Rules :smiley:

Regards

Mark

PS: What a fantastic project I Take my hat of to those all making this possible, you did an amazing job!!!

2 Likes

I would go for an Ender 3 they are more rigid than the anet a6 due to using aluminum extrusions as a frame instead of plastic the cost is alittle more but worth it.
Also they are very popular so the support and modifications available are plentiful.

You can buy them direct from creality or local retailer of your choice.

I would recommend a glass bed as a first upgrade makes leveling the bed easier (note some models of the ender 3 include a glass bed)

Linux is no problem for the majority of 3d printers first off you will need a program to convert the 3d model into language your 3d printer understands, Cura is a good choice and is available free as an app image.

Any questions feel free to ask :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I would suggest a magnetic print bed instead of any other fixed beds.

Furthermore you should decide for yourself if you just want to print or if you want another ā€œ3D printer projectā€.