No Gps - flashing red

Hi,
I realised this has been previously covered but with no really definable results of what was up.
I’m still new to this (someone’s gotta be) and i have managed to install python 3 and reflash my two boards with these latest firmware after detection.
My problem is as above -no gps- on the screen this worked briefly for a few minutes after reflashing but stopped on pairing with the app.
I believe both boards are v1.0 neo6m, would really appreciate a hand to get these up and running.
I don’t know if it makes a difference but i don’t have any 18650 batteries yet and have been running on usb battery packs only.

Update, flashed a lower firmware no. Then paired to the app, updated to the latest firmware again left for 15mins and bang, she’s a runner.
Convinced this is entirely my own fault for running without a battery fitted. The second you disconnect from the power the display goes from no sats to no gps and a flashing red light!
Solution, fit battery re flash to 1.2.63, pair and update to latest?

This may actually be to do with some fixes that are being done on the hardware side. Here is some info from Caveman99 on the discord:

My understanding is that the (hopefully) soon to be released 1.2.65 will include the code to reset the GPS chip. Until then, there is some code you can run using arduino which will reset the GPS chip which I have used and it sorted my t-beam out immediately. The code is here: https://github.com/eriktheV-king/TTGO_T-beam_GPS-reset/blob/master/GPS-T22_v1.0-20190612_v1.1-20191212-resetGPS/GPS-T22_v1.0-20190612_v1.1-20191212-resetGPS.ino

After using that you should be able to re-flash to 1.2.64 and hopefully your GPS will work.

1 Like

Another possibility is to use pre-version from thread T-Beam v1.1 GPS always powered on in 1.2.64 - at least it works with me and it will do a factory-reset

Thanks for replying, please excuse my massive knowledge gap here but how do I get that code into the board?