Help for TOTAL beginners?

Hello All.

@geeksville I’ve been looking for MESHTASTIC for ages.
Work outdoors. I am entirely new to hardware/software integration, a complete illiterate in this environment.
I have not seen/found a tutorial of sorts for steps beyond flashing a device.

Can someone help me understand the download of code to platformio, and coding changes to devices. Especifically being able to avoid sleep mode for solar charging.

I understand I’m asking for a lot but i really want to eventually contribute to the growth of this tech.

Good day ALL.
VIVA MESHTASTIC!

1 Like

Start here for project info Overview | Meshtastic

Dev info is here Overview | Meshtastic

The discord is pretty active for development

2 Likes

Thank you.

I appreciate your prompt response.

I’ve managed to flash 6 devices. Cycled all of them through my devices and checked they operated properly, i mean msgs where sent n received.

What do i do to assign 2 of them as relays, and turn sleep mode of for solar power?

Literally nothing.
Every device also acts as a relay by default :wink: Sleep mode is actually a nice thing since it conserves power. The RF modem stays active all the time, as soon as it receives a message the CPU wakes up.
It’s just a confusion for new beginners since active sleep mode means disabled bluetooth interface. You can manually wake the device via the user button.

Understood thank you.

I shall move ahead with it as is.
Now, i have only iOS devices, can’t seem to find QR code for channel, and/or channel selection at all. Pretty much have an open network?

You can set meshtastic --set is_router true on a device and then it will just wake up for lora messages and other wise sleep, BLE is turned off after a short period.

Where do i set “set meshtastic - - set is_router true’?

BLE?

Sorry, you have to have the python CLI installed to run that command.

Thank you much Garth.

Am now stuck with installation of drivers CP210x.