Complete beginner trying to learn and get this to work

Hi! I recently purchased a TBeam (Specifically: LILYGO TTGO T-Beam ESP32 433/868/915/923Mhz V1.1 WiFi Wireless bluetooth Module GPS NEO-6M SMA LORA32 18650 Battery Holder With OLED - 868MHZ) and wanted to join the mesh.

I flashed the following firmware: firmware-tbeam0.7-EU865-1.1.50
I do not have an android phone, but have a tablet witht he Meshtastic app installed.
I was able to connect to the device witht he app, however, I am unable to get a GPS lock or join the mesh (from what i can see).

I am yet to go outside and see if i get a GPS lock, but from what i have read, if i have my tablet connected (which has GPS and is accurate) i should be able to get a location and see messages across the mesh network.

Not sure if i have the wrong firmware, busted Tbeam or some other issue, but I was hoping somone could help me to get it working or to point out my mistake and try to guide me to a solution. THanks!

2 Likes

Just to confirm, do you have two tbeams or only one? This project is mostly about building meshes as a group.

Yes, I have only one. My understanding was that there would be an existing mesh where I could be a participant as a node to expand the network. I think I may have misunderstood if this is the case. If I can only create a private mesh between two Tbeams then i will have to buy another one.

1 Like

If there are other Meshtastic users in range you could be ok with only one. Expected range is from a few hundred meters to 10 or 15 km. Even longer if line of sight. It all depends on radio conditions.
I think you have the wrong firmware on your board. The one with 0.7 in the name is for the old TBeam.
You have the new 1.1version and should use
firmware-tbeam-EU865-1.1.50.bin

2 Likes