BLE "Just Works" pairing for screenless devices

It is was a significant hurdle for me during initial install to figure out the pairing code for BLE, even after I read the instructions (no screen on my device). And I am a software developer and had all the tools/skills required.
Would it make sense to provide an option to use “Just works” pairing?
I am also curious what is the motivation for Meshtastic requiring elevated security? Most commercial GPS trackers (inReach/Spot) use “Just works”…

I saw something about that here. Though I have never tried it.

@mc-hamster might be able to elaborate further.

You’re right, it’s not well documented.

Here’s the PR. There are comments in the PR on how this works.

The default pin is 123456

I see, But I guess I was proposing a different solution: with “Just works” authentication no input is expected from the keyboard - it is not less secure than hard coded pin and much more convenient for the user.

1 Like

There’s a discussion in the PR were @beardywalrus wanted to protect against Man-In-The-Middle attacks, so some protection from purely pinless authentication was written.

There’s something there about double-clicking the button within 30 seconds of the authentication request. Maybe that would work for you? I have not tried that.

I see, looks like people are concerned about headless routers security. In this case requiring click on a device maybe gives some additional security (in my opinion it does not, but I’m not an expert.). I’ll check if double click works.

1 Like