Anyone in Aberdeen and/or Shire,Scotland? Looking to add some repeaters and develop the area

Hi I am new to this and looking for others in the area and further a field to maybe help build a great mesh:)

2 Likes

Hi there - did you find any other LoRa Meshtastic users in the Aberdeen/Shire? Im north of Aberdeen and new to Meshtastic, I know there used to be a big ameteur radio scene here but am not sure if they took to the Meshtastic thing.

2 Likes

Hi
Another user here in Aberdeen.
Got the bits now for setting up a repeater near center. And considering another one on Kincorth Hill overlooking the city

Seen person on meshtastic in Whinhill,name saying ā€œbaseā€ thou now hasnā€™t been online for 2+ weeks

1 Like

Hi,
Apologies for delayed reply. Iā€™'m the ā€˜Whinhillā€™ guy you saw on Meshtastic. Thatā€™s great youā€™re going to be setting up a repeater near the city centre and considering one on Kincorth Hill too! I am in Ferryhill area (near The Cowdray Club) and was experimenting with no success so far. Using a Heltec V3 board (in a Bender case) Iā€™ll make a point of getting back on air again and looking out for activity. I have line-of-sight path to Kincorth, but a more obstructed path toward city centre. Cheers, David

1 Like

Hi David
Great you found this forum and seen my post. Got the Heltec v3 aswell and app via android. Ask any questions and I will help:-)

The base is now setup in a vehicle in center so very short rage due to lack of height. I would guess if standing near Scotmid/celebration cake shop on crown st you should pick it up easily.

I seen your node from my flat, which is higher up. Now thinking about a node on the atticā€¦
Got the hardware for the kincorth node just need a time to set it up

T

1 Like

Hi,
Thatā€™s brilliant! Iā€™ll charge mine up and get it on air very shortly. Also my pal over Urquhart Road area is going to do the same.
Cheers for now,
David

1 Like