Interested in making a flutter-based third party app - documentation?

How would I interface with the meshtastic app to make an app that uses the meshtastic network? I understand it from the computer side: the python API seems really cool and straightforward to use. However, I don’t see a page dedicated to making android apps.

My use case is that I have a few friends who would also be interested in doing a mesh network with me. We share a discord together (that I’ve paired with a matrix server) and I think I’d like to make an app dedicated to our group. It’d be written in flutter and open source cause I have a lot of experience with it.

Things I plan for it to do is ask the gateway node to emit the most recently sent messages in the discord (via a matrix bot), and send texts to the discord. I’d like to someday get rid of the bot and just run low-bitrate matrix over it, but I’d like to wait for when P2P support on it matures.

What would really help me is to know what mechanism I can use to talk to the Meshtastic app on the smartphone to send and receive packets/messages for my own purposes. Then maybe I can make it a flutter plugin for wider use

3 Likes

Hi!

It is great you mention flutter because I was recently chatting with @jeksys about how it might be a good platform so we could have an iOS app. I also figured I might look into it in a few weeks as a tool to learn Flutter. Here’s the pitiful state of my notes on the idea (two days ago):

However since you know Flutter you would be the ideal geek to make a Flutter client. Which would be great because it would also provide us an iOS client (which Jeksys was interested in working on).

Here’s the documentation on the BLE (USB/serial is almost identical) protocol used between the phone/computer and the device:

But as you are writing this (if you decide to do this you would be a hero for humankind :smile: ) the easiest codebase to refer to is the the python client: