Few New Guy Questions

Hello, I am new to this but very appreciative of the information I have found here so far. I have a few issues that I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

• How can you wake t-beams from the app when they are no longer connected to the phone without having to press the reset button? I am noticing they drop overnight.

*The GPS has been inconsistent. Sometimes I get a red flashing light, some times I don’t, sometimes I have a flashing LED but no coordinates in the app. Any pointers here one what I should look for to improve that?

• How can I get the name to stick and survive a reset? I am not exactly sure what I did but I believe I set them up the same however one will retain its name the other will lose it with most changes.

• Similarly my channel changes on reset and I have to resync the channel on the nodes. Is there a way to make that stick? Ideally I would not have to reset to get them to work but knowing if there is a fix for this as well would help since some hiking trips are remote and it wouldn’t be possible to resync when separated.

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated. I hope to get up to speed and help with the effort.

Welcome!

I would first take a look at the docs pages for power and the power state machine (Power Settings | Meshtastic). I often set is_always_powered to true while testing to ensure consistent sleep behavior. I believe there is significant ongoing optimization in the wake settings for the ESP32 and most efforts seem to strongly prioritize battery life (rightfully so).

GPS has been a mixed bag for me with my older tbeams. I have found hard resets and power cycling to be the most reliable for restoring gps when “no GPS module” errors are displayed.