Diving into this rabbit hole, need some insight on use case

Just wanted to say hi to everyone on here, I am completely new to all of this and wanted to ask a couple questions and get some insight from those that are already experimenting/using this tech. I’ve been going through some threads on here and have found some useful info that have sparked even more excitement into this project, such as making a solar powered node. I have also checked out disaster.radio and have found that very interesting also and am in between which one to start with. Disaster.radio provides an equipment guide on what to purchase of a solar node also.

I have read and watched various videos regarding the range of these devices. Some say they have made line of sight communication between nodes from 1-3 miles away all the way up to roughly 60. For my specific use case (as of right now) I want to communicated with someone who is roughly 12 miles away as the crow flies. I am at approximately 800 feet above sea level and the other person is approximately 1300 feet, also need to consider the fact we have a ridge in between us at approximately 1200 ft. The plan of attack after doing a little reading was to get a node up and running using solar and an 18650 battery inside a waterproof container to place in approximately 2100ft to make an attempt at allowing the devices to communicated with each other.

Ultimately we would like to have 10-15 of these nodes up and running using various people so we could create a network to talk and communicate incase of a down grid, or just simply because its fun and we can. I do like the fact you can turn GPS on and off with the Meshtastic because I can see some utility to it but also am not fond of giving away GPS location haphazardly.

Any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

Edit: Also wanted to know if anyone has experience leaving leaving the boards and batteries out in the cold/heat. We can have sub zero winters and 90 degree summers here.

1 Like