Disable sleep & constantly update GPS

Is there a way to fully disable sleep so the board is always awake, listening, and broadcasting every 5 seconds? Or what’s the limit on that for each channel, and why?

And is there a way to modify how often the GPS coordinates are sent out to each node and also make sure that every node is constantly listening?

I saw something in another thread stating that LoRa radio is always listening and acts as an interrupt and then wakes up the device if it receives anything.

I’m still trying to wrap my head around the bandwidth/channels/etc. From what I’m seeing it may not be possible to transmit that frequently because of the available bandwidth on the LongSlow channel?

Someone correct me if I’m wrong and if you can provide a little more explanation on that.

If necessary, I’m not afraid to dig into the code. I have some experience in that, just need to be pointed in the right direction.

What exactly are you trying to do? The Lora radio is always listening and will wake up the sleeping CPU on a device if a packet comes in. The LongSlow channel can maybe handle a message every 30 seconds, 60 is recommended. You can try it out yourself with the range test plugin Range test plugin | Meshtastic.

I’m trying to setup a mesh network of devices that are mounted to moving vehicles. They need to be able to update fairly quickly.

Looks like the range test plugin won’t do what I need.

I am not sure two stand alone LORA devices can satisfy those requirements.

There’s probably going to be about 10ish devices.

As Garth mentioned, the network is constantly updating in the background, but hitting it too frequently with additional broadcasts will create a backlog when using LongSlow. If you’re expecting to stay within close-ish proximity to each other (and take into account hilly terrain), you may want to experiment with some of the intermediate radio settings to get a faster throughput.