Connect GPS module to Lora32 V2.1

Hello colleagues!
I have in use 2 modules TTGO Lora 32 V2.1 and I have a separate GPS module NEO-6. I want to do an experiment. In this regard, there are questions:

1. Can I connect NEO-6 to Lora32 V2.1 module?
  2. Is there support for GPS modules in the Lora32 V2.1 firmware?
  3. Maybe it is possible to activate the GPS-modules with some kind of meshtastic-commands?
2 Likes

Hi,
You can connect the gps on the lora32, but the default lora32 firmware don’t have it enable.

You can modify the firmware on platform.io and add the definition for the gps pin.

Thanks, I understand, we will deal with the source codes.

1 Like

If you don’t mind, please share what you find or write in the code. I had the excact same question as you.

1 Like

Unfortunately, I’m not a programmer at all and I have to look for coders from friends. I hope there is someone who can deeply understand the code and help me with something. If the result is positive, then I will definitely share it.

1 Like

If you want i can try to build the firmware whit the gps. You only need to connect the gps on tx/gpio01 and rx/gpio3.

I hope to bee able to do it as soon as possible.

Also @geeksville can be done something to enable the gps via the python api or the app on some predefine pin?

The GPS support needs to be included at build time, so alas the python tool can’t do it. However, for all ESP32 targets (unless the target has been customized for a different pin) have the GPS enabled on the following pins:

gpio 34 gps_rx (i.e. data from the gps towards the main CPU)
gpio 12 gps_tx (i.e. data from the main CPU towards the GPS)

If you use these pins you don’t need to build any code at all. And both pins look unused on the lora board you mentioned,

At a minimum you need to hook up power, ground and gps_rx. gps_tx is optional but recommended.

But all of these behaviors are controlled by src/configuration.h. In this case see line 108.

Does that help?