Wind Sensor LoRa Mesh Network

I’m fairly new to all of this and was hoping to get some direction on if I’m approaching this properly. For a university project I’m working to develop a wind sensing network used in wildfire fighting applications. Originally we were going to use satellite modems but having a modem in each node is far too expensive. I came across meshtastic and figured it was a great solution where every sensor node can communicate through the mesh network to a gateway node that will have a satellite modem or some other type of network connection, not really important at the moment. My only problem is I’m having trouble understanding how to actually use Meshtastic. From my understanding its used to send messages across the network from one node to another. I’m assuming that any node can create its own messages instead of just being a repeater. On the Meshtastic website I found the configuration modules like telemetry but this all seems very limited.

I’ll start with the hardware. I’m going to be using the wisblock board with a RAK4631 core module. I have two different anemometers for wind sensing, one communicates via RS485 and another via bluetooth. For the RS485 anemometer I will be using the RS485 wisblock module. I will also have a GPS module to get one time information about the sensor node’s location.

Now for what I want to do. First I will take a gps measurement so we know the node location then I want to take wind data samples over a period of time and calculate the average speed and direction and transmit that through the network to the gateway node. Ideally the gps coordinates are only transmitted once and then replaced with a node ID for following transmissions. I have my own code for collecting and processing the sensor data and I just want to use Meshtastic as a framework to put my sensor code on top of. I don’t want to have to learn how to and build my own mesh network from scratch.