Usage request: low cost alternative to ais (automatic identification system)

I dont use / make meshtastic project so far, but my plan is to use it as a low cost alternative to ais (automatic identification system). Here in Indonesia, ais device are too expensive & not all fishing boat (especially small traditional fishing boat) cant equipt with ais. For security reason & to avoid any accident at open sea (same reason as ais usage) i want to build my own version of ais using “cheap” platform

Here are my propose “how it works”

• use accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer & gps sensor as input data (heading, location, speed etc)
  • no need for permission / validation to connect all lora node / device
  • send “blast message” to all nearby lora device within coverage
  • receive message from other lora device
  • use smartphone (via wifi or bluetooth) to show all nearby boat (similar to radar display)

I can connect all hardware device (plug-in or solder) but im not a programmer. Any advice or help to make this are awesome. Can be add-in feature for future development or an independent development dedicate to “low cost ais device”

Thanks alot for any input (sorry for bad english)

Edit: here are explanation what is ais & how it works for anyone who dont have idea what ais is https://icomuk.co.uk/What-is-AIS-and-How-Does-It-Work/3995/165/

3 Likes

Welcome @gianto!

Have you considered using ATAK (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.atakmap.app.civ) as the mapping software, and Meshtastic (https://github.com/meshtastic/Meshtastic-device) as the transport layer for offline mesh networking? @paulmandal have done a great job, combining both of those, with ATAK Forwarder (https://github.com/paulmandal/atak-forwarder).

You can download all those free of charge. You only need your Android mobile phones and low cost Meshtastic compatible LoRa modules.

By combining those, I believe you could achieve all your requests: