Serial Commands

Hi,
I’m working on a projekt(c#), where i read data from meshtastic :heavy_check_mark:, but i like to send data from serial too (SerialPort.write(“Send something to mesh”)), is it only possible with python through librarys? or is there something i’m missing? :pray:

-Morten

2 Likes

Catch …

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer!
Sorry for another possibly stupid question, i’m new in meshtastic… which file / where to change serialplugin_enabled? and is it possible to use serial plugin via usb connection?
Hope you can help me :pray:

Right now the easiest way of setting those configuration settings is to use the python api.

As you go through this, please share your experience and any tips you come up with. I’d happily update the docs.

I already tried this(meshtastic --set serialplugin_enabled 1)… but get:
“Can’t set serialplugin_enabled due to ‘Userpreferences’ object has no attribute ‘serialplugin_enabled’”,

my tbeam have the newest firmware (1.1.48) have tried 1.1.46 too
Is there anything i should do before i try to change the setting?

I am also having problems, as the instructions are not clear. For example, is the time to wait millis?

I’ve verified I am sending/receiving serial message between two esp32s. I also have two meshtastics nodes communicating via the sendtext function in python sdk.

I then use the cli to send…

meshtastic --port /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART --set serialplugin_enabled 1 --set serialplugin_rxd 35 --set serialplugin_timeout 1000 --set serialplugin_echo 1

(i got these settings from the defaults in the code)

and get a confirmation.
the esp32 is sending a 5 bytes messages every 10 seconds. it appears the meshtastic node is echoing back. however, i never see the message on the network.

I’ll keep messing with it as I feel it’ s a very essential feature for lots of DIY folks who don’t want to muck around in the lower level firmware code. Would appreciate assistance, though. Thanks.

Few things stand out.