How many nodes?

Hello , i am new to the community, and i have been looking for a straight answer for this , but none so far .
What is the actual maximum amount of nodes mashtastic can register?
I.e. can i have a group of 1000+ nodes ?

I think in theory there isnt a defined limit.

Although seems the device firmware by default can only keep track of 200 nodes, but they probably varies by device, depending on memory available.
… a large network might get overwhelmed as all the devices forget each other, and constantly ask each other who they are.

Suspect the main practice limit, is channel utilization, there are limits on how much a particilar device can transmit, such that devices might get knocked off air, with all the chatter.
… Might need to set a most of the clients, not to do any forwarding, to limit bandwidth usage.
… and instead route most messages though a relatively small number of ROUTER nodes.

(I’m quite new to meshtastic too, so might well of missed some other practical limits)

1 Like

Thanks for the info , i am looking into this because i got this idea to create , a network but using vehicles equipped with these nodes .
The idea is that the vehicles would be driving around constantly and would be able to connect to eachother , anf a central station would be able to send msgs to each vehicle , and also monitor their whereabouts
Not sure if it is actually possible , but that is the main idea

Certainly in concept that should work. Actully a very similar idea is being dicussed here:

(tracking horses rather than cars)

But if you are truly talking about a 1000 vehicles, then suspect there will be scalability issues. For example might need to develop custom firmware.