Heltec Board is deep discharging batteries?

Hi,

I’m quite new to meshtastic. I’ve got several Heltec boards to play around with. Friday I attached one board to a li-ion battery to do some experiments. Unfortunately I forgot to disconnect the battery in the evening.

Today the battery has a voltage around 1,3V. It seems as the board has deep discharged the battery.

I assumed that there is better battery management.

Is it a problem in my setup or is the battery management really so bad?

Regards,

regnerus

1 Like

The heltec boards have essentially no battery management (just a dumb charge controller). Alas, they don’t even have a way for us to read the battery voltage (which is the rule we use to enforce deep sleep when battery gets critically low on other boards)

1 Like

Oh, that is annoying.

Does one of the other supported boards have better battery management?

The TTGO TBeams and TTGO Lora 32 boards do provide a way to read the battery voltage.

1 Like

The TTGO uses a simple voltage divider. You could do the same but you would have to build the firmware yourself with some minor changes. Build instructions

3 Likes

Hi dafeman,

that yout for this workaround. That will help me very much.

Regards,

regnerus

2 Likes

So it looks like the Heltec LoRa 32 boards do have a voltage divider that is linked to the Vext control pin (this also turns the screen on). GPIO13 could be used to sense battery voltage.

5 Likes

Oh! I never found that schematic. Would you mind adding it to docs/hardware?

If someone wants to send in a PR to define pin_battery for heltec I bet everything would just work. Great find!

3 Likes

I went to upload it and found it sitting there already! https://github.com/meshtastic/Meshtastic-device/blob/master/docs/hardware/heltec-wifi-lora-32-v2-915.pdf