Getting started - Heltec Capsule Sensor V3

Apologies as I am a total noob, so please talk to me like I am a 5 year old. After a recent camping trip where a storm scared my dog away, I have been looking at tracking options. Fortunately she was found after a few hours but worried it could happen again.

I started looking at normal commercially available trackers, which all run of bluetooth, 4G, wifi etc. The technology doesn’t work when camping as often I am out of 4G range and bluetooth doesn’t have the distance.

I then came across LoRaWAN technology which has it’s merits, however having a remote gateway is a challenge with the requirement to still be connected to the internet. I found a P2P Lora solution with the Rakwireless RAK2171 WisNode TrackIt, however I never got a good result with my testing. Maybe I got a bad unit but the P2P mode was very poor, and software clunky. Perhaps the product was more suited to a gateway.

Now I have stumbled upon Meshtastic and this seems to be a better solution for my use. I have dived into a lot of the material online and Youtube and am looking at purchasing a Heltec Capsule Sensor V3. My experience with electronics is quite limited, and while I can no doubt learn, I need to start with something easy so with limited building, soldering, customisation etc.

My questions and apologies for my ignorance:

1. Do I need a gateway to connect the Heltec Capsule Sensor V3 to? Or can I purchase 2x of the sensors and they just connect to each other?

Yes, gateway required: 2. Recommendations for something battery powered that I can take camping?

No, gateway: 3. What kind of range can you expect between the 2x Heltec Capsule Sensor V3? Would it be worth me having a different device? The dog would need a smaller device, but I can carry something bigger, heavier and more powerful.