What to buy for best omni range?

Hello, I’m new to Meshtastic and this is exactly the kind of thing I’ve been looking for.

I’m pretty much clueless on the hardware side, I’m just interested in building super long range low bandwidth applications.

What would be my best option for the longest range I could get omnidirectional? I’m trying to keep my total build price below $50 if possible, but I’m just not familiar enough with this boards or LoRa to really know what I’m looking for. I’d gladly spend more per board if the payoff was worth it.

My end goal is to have a mesh devices at many nearby family members houses. I’m in a very urban environment so that might be an issue, but for my family members this is great.

I’d like to be able to mount this outside, but I’ll worry about that after I’ve gotten a couple I can work on myself.

Thanks for reading, I’ll make an introduction soon and likely be an active member in the community.

Welcome to the project.

Before we can begin to offer suggestions we need to know what region / device frequency you are in / using.

Unfortunately inexpensive antennas are notorious for over promising and under delivering. An antenna that is tuned to the proper frequency and checked my the manufacture / seller will cost significantly more.

Some people have gotten lucky with some of the longer ducky antennas compared to the ones that come with most devices. But without a VNA you don’t have a easy/quick/reliable way to test how good of an antenna you have.

Antennas are incredibly finnicky things and small changes can have big impacts.

The good news is this project works well even with the stock antennas. But if you are looking for the best range you will need a VNA and test or build your own.

This is what I got and it seems to work well. I prefer the PC interface.

1 Like