Setting up an MQTT server

Is it worth setting up an MQTT server instead of using the Meshtastic one? I have a couple of Linux servers I could install on.

If it’s worth doing, which packages do I install (CLI only) and how do I configure them?

I’m brand new to Meshtastic and am just playing around with it at the moment. I have a couple of Heltec V3s and a couple of TBeams. The concept is very interesting, especially for communication in sparsely populated landscapes and for the use of gathering data from various sensors :+1:t2:

2 Likes

I am also interested in doing something very similar. a list of usable CLI only tools would be of great help

All you need is an MQTT broker, I use mosquitto

My preference these days is to use docker, here’s a decent guide on how to set it up using docker:

Otherwise if you’re running ubuntu 18.04 and above: sudo apt install mosquitto mosquitto-clients

There’s some good doco on the meshtastic website as well, and although this says for Mac, the mosquitto_sub and _pub commands for testing are the same, as is the mosquitto.conf

1 Like

I’ve finally got Mosquitto up and running (not in a container though). I just need to test the connection, but this will probably be tomorrow.

I found Mosquitto quite hard to configure… it works locally by default, but I struggled to find documentation to help me set up remote/external connections.

Have you actually got this working for you? I have tried for months on Linux, Mac OS, Windows 10, Docker. Even Hired a guy from India and nothing. I can’t figure any of this out.

Ah, yeah remote access is the harder part.

I actually made a suggestion for another project recently on how to remotely access local network services, which could apply to this: Sharing Your BirdNET-Pi Stuff!!!!!! · mcguirepr89/BirdNET-Pi · Discussion #69 · GitHub

perfect use case for ngrok (How to expose your localhost server using Ngrok | by Reyhan | Medium | Medium).