Indy area users

Any Indianapolis, Indiana area users?

I’m slightly NE of indy

I’m new to the concept and don’t have any experience with this type of technology, but I’m anxious to learn and to build a capable network to extend our range. I’m researching systems now. Would you be willing to assist me in getting started? I’m NW of Indy.

Thank you for your reply.

1 Like

I’m actually extremely new to all this as well, and am also working on getting a large powerful antennae set up on the house, possibly with a solar powered WisBlock board. Feel free to ask me things and id happily work with you to help how i can or point you towards a solution. I’m just happy to hear someone relatively nearby is into this as well. All i have right now are a couple of v3 heltec ESP32 boards flashed with meshtastic. Still trying to figure out the ins and outs of using those.

That’s great! Im still deciding what route I want to go for my portable unit. Any thoughts on RAK WisBlock Vs T-Beam? Also gps, WiFi?

I have just gotten my Heltec v3 working in downtown Indy. Not too sure if I can get a good signal here because of the buildings. I also have no idea what I am doing lol.

1 Like

Well we can learn together as we go then. I’ll let you know when my stuff comes in and go from there. I’m trying to combine things that are plug and play so I can at least start communicating and then work on repeaters and adding to the mesh later.

My daughters go to IUPUI so I want to at least be able to communicate with them if needed. Probably 20th miles as the crow flys.

1 Like

I go to IUPUI too. Should I set up my node on campus? It’s mostly concrete there so im not sure where the best place to have it for signal. Also, I am not too sure of legality of just leaving one of these on campus on a roof or something.