Encryption/security issues review

Hi ya’ll,

So the next device sw release (Tuesday ish?) will include channel level AES256 encryption. However, I’m not an expert on encryption. I’ve tried to do the ‘right thing’ and do standard solutions similar to projects I’ve done in my past, but no “encryption expert” has reviewed the implementation. So you should probably consider it ‘fairly secure, but don’t go planning anything super secret ;-)’.

If any of ya’ll are an encryption expert (or know someone), I’d love them to critique this:

https://github.com/meshtastic/Meshtastic-device/blob/master/docs/software/cypto.md

2 Likes

@geeksville There might be a security concern to be addressed: the whole mesh could be compromised, if one device is lost. Therefore, we should be able to prevent external entities accessing messages and other data, if a node is lost.

This is especially important, for nodes left as uncontrolled repeaters.

3 Likes

An update on this: I just received a very thoughtful review by a security expert. They would like to remain anonymous, but sometime in the next weekish I’ll edit their comments into a new version of this document. It will describe current strengths and weaknesses and future ideas we might want to consider.

6 Likes

Ok - I’ve finally merged the great comments donated by anonymous crypto expert #1 (thank you!). I’ve also used those comments to extract a few simple/accessible tips/warnings about the level of crypto provided (i.e. what is your risk if an ‘attacker’ gets one of your radios in their possession):

1 Like

The risk of having the AES key extracted from repeater nodes is worrying. Should be switch to something like OTR/Signal or implement a TPM onboard?

1 Like

Repeater nodes don’t even technically need to have the keys (though currently they do).

And one of the proposed work items (which is pretty easy) would make key extraction extremely difficult: