CalTopo integration

As a SAR team administrator I am very interested in being able to integrate Meshtastic with CalTopo. We very frequently operate in areas with no cell coverage. We use Garmin InReach devices, but they require a connection to the internet for data to propagate on the map.

I would like to be able see team members in the field and for the team members to be able to see each other assuming they are in range of each other. Some thing like Atak but through CalTopo.

I have Administrator level access to our team account.

Having watched the Meshtastic video and documentation on integration, I find myself unable to follow the serial connection process. I have also read but find the CalTopo APRS integration instruction over my head.

Is there a video or a thread or willing person that can talk a novice through the process step by step, of connecting nodes to CalTopo?

3 Likes

So you enabled the Serial Module, entered the correct RX/TX pins, and set the mode to CALTOPO? Then you should get the output at the default baud of 38400 (which can be configured).

Maybe @thebentern can help you out further.

1 Like

I would appreciate a more thorough walk through of this set up as well. CalTopo debug shows traffic serial traffic that does appear to come from the TBeam, but shows it as symbol gibberish. I’ve tried multiple bauds, making sure they’re the same, etc. Cannot seem to get CalTopo to see NMEA format text. I have another APRS application called QTH that was able to decode the TBeam position data fine. Not sure why it’s not working with CalTopo. Also, with a SAR team in southern Wyoming, and considering adding meshtastic devices to our gear. Any help would be very appreciated! Prefer Mac…

1 Like