Stacking of failed decoded messages

Hi developers,

As far as i know, messages are transmitted up to 3 times if there is no ACK that they have been decoded earlier at the “other end”, right?
And the Meshtastic code uses FEC, i.e. some redundant bits and such stuff. There is something like a checksum and/or threshold, and if the result of the decodes is below that threshold, the decode is considered to be false and thus dropped, right?
Assuming the S/N is to low to get a decode from one of the 3 message/packet transmissions, it is possible to stack the 3 results (in the end it is a chain of 0 and 1) in the hope that there is a clear decode.

Experts will notice that i’m not really an expert into this stuff but i know some basics about the idea.

Is such a method or attempt already used or has it been tried or is it a totally new idea to the developers? I don’t know but i’m interested of a feedback from those who actually write the code in that Meshtastic project…

When getting a correct decode from 3 false decodes, then this could be expressed in a gain in dB. A factor of 3 would be (up to) 4.77 dB. So this could result in more range, more reability…

Yes, there will be three retransmissions if you did not receive an ACK.

Adding redundant bits for FEC and the checksum (CRC) is all done by the LoRa chip, not in software.
The amount of redundant bits is controlled by the LoRa coding rate, which is already set to the highest for all modem presets in Meshtastic.

If the node did receive something, but there was an error, you will see this in the logs:

ignoring received packet due to error

But it might also be that it didn’t even detect the packet, so then you will not see anything.

All right. Now, if you received a packet which is just a little to weak to be correctly decoded and the second and third one is also just to weak, then one could try to stack these false packets bit-wise and then again try to see if a valid decode appears. You know how i mean?